Got back from Australia on Thursday morning.  From a fasting perspective it was not the best trip, but not disastrous.  Over 10 days I managed three fasting days.  I tried more, but invariably was going out to dinner and then would have a glass of wine…..

Anyway, I am not too disappointed.  On Friday here, I had a fast day, and I am fasting again today, so effectively I will have managed to have had five fasting days in the last fortnight.

This will be my last fasting day for the next week though – on Tuesday I leave for my bike ride from Geneva to Nice and I really think it would be both unwise and impossible to continue during that.  The ride is from Wednesday to Saturday, so I am thinking that two eating days before the ride will be necessary to get my glycogen stores fully up to speed (i.e. carbo loading) and then the Sunday following the ride I will also eat as a normal day to recover.

I am treating this as a week off, and quite looking forward to it.  When I have previously done long rides like this I have not lost any weight – I don’t know why , perhaps replacing fat with muscle?? – but anyway I am not worried for this week.  Just want to enjoy the ride.

I had blood tests done in Australia, and my doctor had a set of results from 2007 which provided a good baseline.  My fasting glucose in 2007 was 5.5 mmol/L; in June this year when I had some test done it was 5.8; and last week it was 5.2.  My cholesterol level went from 4.9 mmol/L down to 4.4 mmol/L (at the lower middle end of the normal range of 3.9-5.5). (Unfortunately, the test did not split up into HDL and LDL cholesterol).

When I did the tests in 2007 I was about 15 kg lighter and very fit, so the fact that my numbers are lower than then to me says that this diet is doing something positive.

The only negative is that the weight loss is perhaps a bit slower than I hoped.  I think I am still losing weight  – I was measured at the doctor and was 108.8kg which is down about a kg from my previous measure, but using a different set of scales.  Anyway, I want to up the rate of weight loss and so I have decided to severely cut down my alcohol consumption and see if that helps.